46: Make Things that Matter with Rob Fitzpatrick
Play โ€ข 1 hr 11 min

David speaks with Rob Fitzpatrick, a well-storied entrepreneur, and writer. Author of three books, including The Mom Test and Write Useful Books, both of which are among the most universally recommended books for early founders and non-fiction writers.

We talked about his journey getting into YC in 2007, trying to build this business, pivoting mid-interview, and building a business that ultimately failed. He also talks about how he rose from the ashes and tried a bunch of different things.

And eventually built an agency that was making about a million dollars a year, and then the journey to the place where he is now, where he is taking a much slower and more deliberate approach, both to building businesses and also to writing.

๐Ÿ“œ Full transcript:

www.theknowledge.io/robfitz/


๐Ÿ“น Watch on YouTube

https://youtu.be/J3M1FFUvtqY


๐Ÿ‘ค Connect withย Rob Fitzpatrick:

Twitter: @robfitz | https://twitter.com/robfitz

Books: The Mom Test | https://amzn.to/3UeADcN ;

Write Useful Books | https://amzn.to/3Vp1HYj

Website: https://www.robfitz.com/home

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/RobFitzpatrick


๐Ÿ—ฃ Mentioned in the show:

Hacker News | https://news.ycombinator.com/

Y Combinator | https://www.ycombinator.com/

Seed Camp Week | https://seedcamp.com/

Sunk Cost Fallacy | https://www.theknowledge.io/sunk-cost-fallacy/

usefulbooks.com | http://usefulbooks.com/

Annie Duke | https://www.annieduke.com/

Thinking in Bets | https://amzn.to/3VlU196

Angela Duckworth | https://angeladuckworth.com/

Grit | https://amzn.to/3Vzu3iR

Workshop Survival Guide | https://www.workshopsurvival.com/

Alice Bentinck | https://twitter.com/alicebentinck

Why we use Edge to generate ideas | https://medium.com/entrepreneur-first/why-we-use-edge-c08fe37adf1

Web 3.0 | https://www.investopedia.com/web-20-web-30-5208698

Leonarda DaVinci | https://www.britannica.com/biography/Leonardo-da-Vinci

Enlightenment | https://www.britannica.com/event/Enlightenment-European-history

David Kadavy | https://kadavy.net/

Brennan Dunn | https://twitter.com/brennandunn


๐Ÿ‘จ๐Ÿพโ€๐Ÿ’ป About David Elikwu:

David Elikwu FRSA is a serial entrepreneur, strategist and writer. David is the founder of The Knowledge, a platform helping people think deeper and work smarter.


Twitter: @Delikwu / @itstheknowledge

Newsletter: https://theknowledge.io

Website: https://www.davidelikwu.com,

Podcast: http://plnk.to/theknowledge


๐Ÿš€ Career Hyperdrive

Career Hyperdrive is a live, cohort-based course that helps people find their competitive advantage, gain clarity around their goals and build a future-proof set of mental frameworks so they can live an extraordinary life doing work they love.


During this course, you will make the leap from 'going with the flow' to actively crafting your journey. And youโ€™ll join a community of ambitious peers who will hold you accountable for betting on yourself.


http://careerhyperdrive.com


๐Ÿงญ The Knowledge

On The Knowledge Podcast youโ€™ll hear from the best and brightest minds in business, entrepreneurship, and beyond. Hosted by writer and entrepreneur David Elikwu, each episode features in-depth interviews with makers, thinkers, and innovators from a variety of backgrounds.


The Knowledge is a weekly newsletter for people who want to get more out of life. It's full of insights from psychology, philosophy, productivity and business, all designed to help you think deeper and work smarter.


Website: theknowledge.io

Podcast: plnk.to/theknowledge



Support this podcast at โ€” https://redcircle.com/the-knowledge-with-david-elikwu/donations
More episodes
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu