Latino USA
Latino USA
Mar 20, 2020
From Boyle Heights To Netflix... And Back To The Neighborhood
28 min

In February, Netflix premiered a comedy-drama series that features a Mexican-American family from the Los Angeles neighborhood of Boyle Heights. The show is called 'Gentefied' and it's a blend of two words: "gente", the Spanish word for people, and "gentrified." In Latino USA, we wanted to get the community's perspective on the show, so we reached out to the Boyle Heights Beat—a bilingual community newspaper produced by youth reporters—and handed them the mic. The result is a conversation that takes on gentrification, stereotypes and what it's like when a new show is set in your backyard.

Novel Pairings
Novel Pairings
Novel Pairings
37. Quarterly Favorites: the best books we read in Fall 2020
Today, we reflect on our favorite reads from the last three months. These quarterly reflections might be our favorite episodes to record. It’s lovely to take time to consider our favorite episodes, our favorite reads, and what we’ve learned over the course of the season. We’re sharing a bunch of book recommendations in this episode; shop our recs here. Visit our podcast pals Heaving Bosoms! Follow Novel Pairings on Instagram or Twitter. Subscribe to our newsletter. Use our Libro.fm affiliate code NOVELPAIRINGS to get an audiobook subscription for yourself or purchase a gift. Books mentioned: Transcendent Kingdom by Yaa Gyasi Leave the World Behind by Rumaan Alam Mexican Gothic by Silvia Moreno Garcia Luster by Raven Leilani Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell Like Lovers Do by Tracey Livesay On Beauty by Zadie Smith Intimations by Zadie Smith Now That I’ve Found You by Kristina Forest I Wanna Be Where You Are by Kristina Forest Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust The Next Great Jane by K.L Going The Prettiest Star by Carter Sickels A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara The Great Believers by Rebecca Makkai The Heart’s Invisible Furies by John Boyne Hillbilly Elegy by J.D. Vance She Come by It Natural by Sarah Smarsh All My Mother’s Lovers by Ilana Masad How to Catch a Queen by Alyssa Cole The Beauty of Your Face by Sahar Mustafa Winter lineup: December My Antonia by Willa Cather Little Women by Louisa May Alcott January Sister Outsider by Audre Lorde 84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff February There is Confusion by Jessie Redmon Fauset The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter
1 hr 1 min
All the Books!
All the Books!
Book Riot
E287: New Releases and More for November 24, 2020
This week, Liberty and Patricia discuss Barely Functional Adult, Ruinsong, Escape Pod, and more great books. This episode is sponsored by TBR, Book Riot’s subscription service offering reading recommendations personalized to your reading life; Sips By; and Spellbreaker by Charlie N. Holmberg. Pick up an All the Books! 200th episode commemorative item here. Subscribe to All the Books! using RSS, iTunes, or Spotify and never miss a beat book. Sign up for the weekly New Books! newsletter for even more new book news. BOOKS DISCUSSED ON THE SHOW: Princess Floralinda and the Forty-Flight Tower by Tamsyn Muir Barely Functional Adult: It’ll All Make Sense Eventually by Meichi Ng What Cats Want: An illustrated guide for truly understanding your cat by Dr. Yuki Hattori  Escape Pod: The Science Fiction Anthology edited by Mur Lafferty & S.B. Divya Ruinsong by Julia Ember Once Upon a Time I Lived on Mars: Space, Exploration, and Life on Earth by Kate Greene Seance Tea Party by Reimena Yee Beetle & the Hollowbones by Aliza Layne What We Don’t Talk About When We Talk About Fat by Aubrey Gordon, creator of Your Fat Friend WHAT WE’RE READING: Mediocre: The Dangerous Legacy of White Male America by Ijeoma Oluo Meet Me in Another Life by Catriona Silvey MORE BOOKS OUT THIS WEEK: There’s Only One Danny Garvey by David F. Ross Ready Player Two by Ernest Cline The Thirty Names of Night by Zeyn Joukhadar Stuff You Should Know: An Incomplete Compendium of Mostly Interesting Things by Josh Clark and Chuck Bryant All Lara’s Wars by Wojciech Jagielski, Antonia Lloyd-Jones (translator) I Remember Everything: Life Lessons from Dawson’s Creek by Erin Hensley, Julia Callahan, Jillian Barthold War Lord: A Novel (Saxon Tales) by Bernard Cornwell Water, Wasted by Alex Branson In Search of a Name: A Novel by Marjolijn van Heemstra The Diplomat’s Wife: A Novel by Pam Jenoff  Dark Tides: A Novel by Philippa Gregory  Not Necessarily Rocket Science: A Beginner’s Guide to Life in the Space Age by Kellie Gerardi  Memory Rose into Threshold Speech: The Collected Earlier Poetry: A Bilingual Edition by Paul Celan, Pierre Joris (translator) Feline Philosophy: Cats and the Meaning of Life by John Gray  How the King of Elfhame Learned to Hate Stories by Holly Black   Carving Out a Humanity : Race, Rights, and Redemption by Janet Dewart Bell, Vincent Southerland Tomorrow Will Be Better: A Novel by Betty Smith   Fishing for Dinosaurs and Other Stories by Joe R. Lansdale  Comes a Pale Rider by Caitlín R. Kiernan Passing the Baton: Black Women Track Stars and American Identity (Sport and Society) by Cat M. Ariail See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.
39 min
Latinos Who Lunch
Latinos Who Lunch
Latinos Who Lunch
Episode 180: The Mexican Legacy of El Zorro
In this episode, Babelito interviews Stephen Andes, a professor from Louisianna State University (LSU) and author of Zorro's Shadow: How a Mexican Legend Became America's First Superhero. They talk about this character's Mexican legacy and how Hollywood whitewashed him into a Spanish Latin lover. But before, Favy and Babelito talk about their favorite Thanksgiving recipes and their post-election blues. As always, send your questions to AskLWLpod@gmail.com and we may read them on a future episode. #podsincolor #supportbrownpodcasts #supportlatinxpodcasts #lwlpod #latinx Show Notes: Stephen Andes (https://www.lsu.edu/hss/history/people/faculty/andes.php) The Head of Joaquin Murrieta (https://www.kcet.org/shows/head-of-joaquin-murrieta/episodes/the-head-of-joaquin-murrieta) Borderless Film Festival (https://tarheels.live/borderlesscultures/) Cavalierhousebooks.com (https://www.cavalierhousebooks.com/book/9781641602938) Zorrosghost.com (https://zorrosghost.com/author/stephenandes/) Redstick Reads (https://redstickreads.com/) Rubio (https://rubiomusic.bandcamp.com/album/mango-negro) Swatch of Horrors (https://www.stitcher.com/show/swatch-of-horrors/episode/ep-1-nail-salon-horrors-76884480) Call now and leave a voicemail: (512) 333-0471 Thank you to all of our supporters on Patreon (https://www.patreon.com/latinoswholunch) and Paypal (http://www.latinoswholunch.com/donate) Buy the ABCs of Latinidad Coloring book (https://thewritersblock.org/?q=h.tviewer&qsb=keyword&qse=ZzjQjUtIw2ckZaqLBU_Zqg&using_sb=status)
1 hr 32 min
SFF Yeah!
SFF Yeah!
Book Riot
E92: Our Picks for Holiday Gifting!
Sharifah and Jenn answer some listener book questions and recommend their sci-fi and fantasy picks for holiday gift-giving this year. This episode is sponsored by TBR, Book Riot’s subscription service offering reading recommendations personalized to your reading life, Tor Books and Kalipso by Marie Blanchet. Subscribe to the podcast via RSS here, Apple Podcasts here, Spotify here. The show can also be found on Stitcher here. To get even more SF/F news and recs, sign up for our Swords and Spaceships newsletter! Questions 1. Hi! I have the stereotypical hard to buy for husband. He’s a big epic Sci-fi/fantasy fan. He loves the Expanse series, Game of Thrones, Peter F. Hamilton, Jeff Vandermeer, and Neal Stephenson. He’s also likes NK Jemison’s series and Octavia Butler. Any ideas for some new author or series? Thanks so much! -Melanie 2. I would love some great winter fantasy books to curl up with over this holiday season. Living in Florida I don’t really experience a winter unless I travel, which is obviously not happening this year, so I get all of my snow feels from books. I loved Katherine Arden’s series and I already have Sisters of the Winter Wood on my TBR. I lean towards fantasy, but if you have a great sci-fi rec then that would be awesome too! Thanks so much, y’all are amazing! -Liza 3. Hi, This year for Christmas, my sister and I are buying each other books so she’s writing in to When in Romance to request a recommendation and I’m writing into y’all. I’m looking for something in the vein of Orphan Black, Ex Machina, Dollhouse and the Villains duology by V.E. Schwab. The best way I can think of to describe is: amoral people doing kind of terrible things in the name of science that brings up questions of humanity (but isn’t that just all sci-fi?) Anyway, I’ll put a link to my goodreads at the bottom but it’s kind of a mess so here’s a quick(ish) rundown: I think the only ones already on my radar are Gemsigns and Jurassic Park (even though it’s dinosaurs and not humans, I’m gonna give it a go.) Books I’ve read that seem like they would fit here include: -Never Let Me Go – tbh I probably would have liked this better if it had followed the people that ran the school instead of the kids. -Island of Dr. Moreau – obvious OB connection and it’s been years but I remember loving it. -Frankenstein and Brave New World – putting these together because both of them just weren’t what I was expecting, if that makes sense. -Mila 2.0 – again it’s been years and I remember it being fine but it was the same situation as Never Let Me Go. -Crystal Books Recommended The Poppy War trilogy by RF Kuang (trigger warnings: basically all of them, it’s really brutal) The Green Bone saga by Fonda Lee (Trigger warnings: mentions of sexual assault, suicide and self-harm) Girls Made of Snow and Glass by Melissa Bashardoust Spinning Silver by Naomi Novik Gemsigns by Stephanie Saulter The Psychology of Time Travel by Kate Mascarenhas (tw: self-harm, disordered eating, hazing) Vita Nostra by Marina and Sergey Dyachenko, translated by Julia Meitov Hersey The House in the Cerulean Sea by TJ Klune (tw: child abuse) Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse (tw: harm to children, graphic violence) Cemetery Boys by Aiden Thomas (tw: transphobia) Vagabonds by Hao Jingfang, translated by Ken Liu (tw: reference to suicide) The Empress of Salt and Fortune by Nghi Vo The Down Days by Ilze Hugo (TW: child abuse/death; CW: drug addiction, fatphobic language) Woven in Moonlight by Isabel Ibañez Riot Baby by Tochi Onyebuchi (all the trigger warnings) See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.
1 hr 7 min
More episodes
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu