4. New Kingdom (Scotty Hard, Nosaj & Sebash)
Play • 3 hr 5 min

It’s the show notes! This episode’s focus is on New Kingdom, plus some social commentary, podcast recommendations, and a new music rundown.

With guest correspondent Beverly Fre$h, we interview all three members of the groundbreaking experimental rap group New Kingdom, discussing the group and individual ventures. Jason Furlow (AKA Nosaj, Nature Boy Jim Kelly) ruminates on freestyling with Rammellzee and Sir Menelik, aging, and Project Blowed. Sebastian Laws (AKA Sebstop, Sebash) explains time, synergy, and wanderlust. And producer/engineer Scott Harding (AKA Scotty Hard) takes us through the group’s work with Del and Tricky, answers some questions provided by Mike Ladd, and discusses Sensational. We even have a quick appearance from Elucid who shares his thoughts on New Kingdom too.

Not included in the episode is an additional interview with King Eulas, who sheds additional light on Nosaj. It’s available for free at http://patreon.com/weirdrap. Also included there is the Bonus Episode, featuring the original New Kingdom demo tape and additional interviews including Nosaj’s thoughts on Wordsound Recordings and PM Dawn, Sebastian on his formative years, and Scotty Hard discussing his work with Ka and Lifers Group. If that wasn’t enough, in honor of this episode, Nosaj, King Eulas and Beverly Fre$h put together a foundational avant-garde rap playlist at https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLjOA0PXpcXQ84U_dTPbIey-39AHbmi2Ei.

Nosaj - https://www.instagram.com/nosajfromnewkingdom Sebastion - https://www.instagram.com/suttonclocks Scotty - http://scottyhard.com Beverly - http://beverlyfresh.com

Then we talk about optics; perceptions the role of the white man in hip hop journalism, as it relates to Weird Rap and beyond.

A couple other podcasts we’d like to recommend are #StoriesAboutSongs by Kevin Beacham, and Stirring The Sauce, Vol. 1 on Ice Cube’s "Contract With Black America".

Some new album recommendations: Aaron Cartier - Aaron Cartier Best Dog https://biglink.to/aaroncartier Chip The Black Boy - Multiversal War https://davidliebehart.bandcamp.com/album/multiversal-war Nah - Mortal Glitch https://nahstuff.bandcamp.com/album/mortal-glitch Clipping. - Visions Of Bodies Being Burned https://clppng.bandcamp.com/album/visions-of-bodies-being-burned Ebony Tusks - Heal Thyself https://ebonytusks.bandcamp.com/album/heal-thyself

Another new album is Aesop Rock’s Spirit World Field Guide, which some people are boycotting. We discuss this in brief, and more in depth at http://facebook.com/groups/weirdrap.

Weird Rap t-shirts, social media, music releases and more at https://weirdrap.com.

Please rate and review via http://weirdrap.com/rating.

Message us at weirdrap3000@gmail.com. (Please don’t contact us about your music unless you’re certain it’s truly inventive and vital.)

More episodes
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu