Nov 1, 2023
Dvořák’s ecstatic Cello Concerto
Play • 36 min

The Akron Symphony will present Dvořák’s warm-hearted, ecstatic, and deeply lyrical Cello Concerto with guest soloist Khari Joyner on November 18 at EJ Thomas Hall. The performance will also include William Grant Still’s Festive Overture and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No. 6.

Like the New World Symphony, the Cello Concerto is another work hailing from Dvořák’s American period and is therefore infused with the same sense of homesick longing that pervades the symphony. 

Khari Joyner has a following both nationally and abroad as a versatile concert cellist, chamber musician and ambassador for the arts. He has made numerous guest appearances with orchestras and ensembles across the world, and is a passionate advocate for the music of the 21st century. He is also currently an assistant professor at the Baldwin Wallace University Conservatory of Music.

Learn more about Khari’s career at

The Akron Symphony Orchestra will present Dvořák’s Cello Concerto on November 18, 7:30 pm, at EJ Thomas Hall. The Preview from the Podium begins at 6:30 pm. Tickets are available at

More episodes
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu