Going North Podcast
168 - "Spiral" with Amy Simpkins (@amylsimpkins)
Aug 1, 2019 · 51 min
Play episode

“Enjoy the journey and don’t be summit obsessed.” - Amy Simpkins 

 

Today's featured author is innovation catalyst, MIT-trained engineer, speaker and the "Queen of Big Ideas", Amy Simpkins. Amy and I talk about her book, growing through change and tons more!!

 

Key Takeaways:

Constant learning keeps life interesting.

What’s important to you now may not be important to you in a different phase of your life.

“I think big thoughts.”

Spend some time in the confusion phase to get to the solution phase.

“All parenting is chaos.”

Who do you want to be?

Contrary to popular opinion, some engineers love hugs.

It’s okay not to know when starting out and seeking to become more innovative.

We need to allow ourselves to grow through change.

 

Amy's Site: http://www.amysimpkins.com/

Amy's Book: http://www.amysimpkins.com/spiralbook/

Amy's Energy Company -"Mugrid Analytics": http://mugrid.com/

 

A special shoutout goes to MagicMusicX (@magicmusicx) for his track "Computer Room". Be sure to cop this and his other wonderful tunes through the following link. https://magicmusicx.bandcamp.com/track/the-computer-room

 

Related Episodes:

4 - "My Cape Is At the Cleaners" with Wendy Elover (@wendyeloveracademymortgage): https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/going-north-podcast-episode-4-my-cape-is-at-the-cleaners-with-wendy-elover-wendyeloveracademymortgage

8 - "Gain the Advantage" with Nancy Gaines (@NancyLGaines): https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/going-north-podcast-episode-8-nancy-gaines-nancylgaines

39 - "Enroll In Confidence" with Sabah Ali (@sabah.ali14): https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/39-enroll-in-confidence-with-sabah-ali-sabahali14

42 - "Courage" with Christie Lindor (@MuseMece): https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/42-courage-with-christie-lindor-musemece

44 - "How to Work With Jerks" by Eric Williamson (@TTS_Williamson): https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/44-how-to-work-with-jerks-by-eric-williamson-tts_williamson 

66.5 - "Woman 5.0" with Gema Ramirez (@gemramir): https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/66-point-five-woman-50-with-gema-ramirez-gemramir

82 - "Side Hustle Millionaire" with Tony Whatley (@365Driven): https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/82-side-hustle-millionaire-with-tony-whatley-365driven

84 - "Innovation and Leadership" with Dr. Jeff Standridge: https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/84-innovation-and-leadership-with-dr-jeff-standridge

110 - "Self-Intelligence" with Jane Ransom (@TheJaneRansom): https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/110-self-intelligence-with-jane-ransom-thejaneransom

113 - "Business, Faith & Empowering Women Over 40" with Jen Du Plessis (@JenDuPlessis): https://goingnorth.libsyn.com/113-business-faith-empowering-women-over-40-with-jen-du-plessis-jenduplessis

 

 

Disclaimer: Forgive the occasional fireworks in the background since this was recorded on the 4th of July.

Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu