Episode 64: Bitahnii Wayne Wilson
Play • 57 min
Hello and welcome to the Baha’i Blogcast with me your host, Rainn Wilson.

In this series of podcasts I interview members of the Baha’i Faith and friends from all over the world about their hearts, and minds, and souls, their spiritual journeys, what they’re interested in, and what makes them tick.

In this episode, I'm joined by Bitahnii Wayne Wilson, a Navajo Baha'i from the remote community of Pine Springs on the Navajo Nation in Arizona. We talk about the service work he's doing in his community, Navajo traditions and prophecies, and how they relate to the Baha'i Faith. Bitahnii also tells us about the changes he made in his own personal life and how he became a Baha'i, the meaning behind a "clan", and he shares Baha'i and Navajo prayers with us. I hope you enjoy this conversation as much I did!

Find out more about some of the things we mentioned and covered below:

* Help support Bitahnii's service work via K'eh Native Action: https://www.classy.org/campaign/native-covid-relief-campaign/c319516

* Follow and connect with Bitahnii on Facebook here: https://www.facebook.com/Navajo-Wayne-Wilson

* Abdu'l-Baha: https://www.bahai.org/abdul-baha/

* The Universal House of Justice: https://bit.ly/3mgH0wN

* Shoghi Effendi: https://bit.ly/3rCOeNM

* The Bab​​: https://www.bahai.org/the-bab/

* Baha'u'llah: https://www.bahai.org/bahaullah/

* Native American Baha'i Institute [NABI]: http://www.indigenousbahais.com/native_american_bahai_institute.php

* Baha’i Blogcast with Rainn Wilson – Episode 19: Kevin Locke: https://www.bahaiblog.net/2017/08/bahai-blogcast-rainn-wilson-episode-19-kevin-locke/

* Bitahnii mentions the following excerpt from a prayer by the Bab:
"Immeasurably exalted art Thou, O Lord!  Protect us from what lieth in front of us and behind us, above our heads, on our right, on our left, below our feet and every other side to which we are exposed. Verily, Thy protection over all things is unfailing."

* Baha'i academic and author Christopher Buck: http://christopherbuck.com/articles/blog/

* The Importance of Service in the Baha’i Faith: https://www.bahaiblog.net/2015/10/the-importance-of-service-in-the-bahai-faith/

* Baha’i Temples: A Brief Introduction: https://www.bahaiblog.net/2018/07/bahai-temples-a-brief-introduction/

* The Baha’i Principle of Progressive Revelation: https://www.bahaiblog.net/2015/01/bahai-principle-progressive-revelation-2/

If you find Native American culture and the Baha'i Faith as interesting as I do, here are some more links you may enjoy:

- Baha’i Blogcast with Rainn Wilson – Episode 55: Anisa & Doug White: https://www.bahaiblog.net/2020/09/bahai-blogcast-with-rainn-wilson-episode-55-anisa-doug-white/

- The Path Home: Reflections on Truth and Reconciliation: https://www.bahaiblog.net/2016/05/20675/

- Re-Telling Reconciliation – A Talk by Roshan Danesh: https://www.bahaiblog.net/2015/02/re-telling-reconciliation-talk-roshan-danesh/

- ARTICLE: Some Native American Prophecies and the Baha’i Faith: https://www.bahaiblog.net/2020/07/some-native-american-prophecies-and-the-bahai-faith/

- AUDIO: Some Native American Prophecies and the Baha’i Faith: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jC349l5rzsU

Be sure to subscribe to the Baha’i Blogcast for more episodes on:

* YouTube: http://bit.ly/2JTNmBO​​
* iTunes: http://apple.co/2leHPHL​​
* Soundcloud: https://bit.ly/30dX0G4​​
* Spotify: http://spoti.fi/2IXRAnb​​

If you would like to find out more about the Baha'i Faith visit BAHAI.ORG, and for more great Baha'i-inspired content, check out BAHAIBLOG.NET: http://bahaiblog.net/​

Thanks for listening!

-Rainn Wilson
More episodes
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu