TED Talks Daily
TED Talks Daily
Sep 24, 2020
Why we must confront the painful parts of US history | Hasan Kwame Jeffries
Play episode · 13 min
To move forward in the United States, we must look back and confront the difficult history that has shaped widespread injustice. Revisiting a significant yet overlooked piece of the past, Hasan Kwame Jeffries emphasizes the need to weave historical context, no matter how painful, into our understanding of modern society -- so we can disrupt the continuum of inequality massively affecting marginalized communities.
Curiosity Daily
Curiosity Daily
Discovery
Could Parasites Turn Us into Zombies?
Learn about whether parasites can turn us into zombies, why awkward silences are so awkward, and why bubbles form in boiling water. Could parasites turn us into zombies? By Cameron Duke Ahmed, I. (2019, November). The science of zombies: Will the undead rise? Phys.Org; Phys.org. https://phys.org/news/2019-11-science-zombies-undead.html Blum, J., Schmid, C., & Burri, C. (2006). Clinical aspects of 2541 patients with second stage human African trypanosomiasis. Acta Tropica, 97(1), 55–64. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.actatropica.2005.08.001 Flegr, J. (2007). Effects of Toxoplasma on Human Behavior. Schizophrenia Bulletin, 33(3), 757–760. https://doi.org/10.1093/schbul/sbl074 McAuliffe, K. (2012, February 6). How Your Cat Is Making You Crazy. The Atlantic. https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2012/03/how-your-cat-is-making-you-crazy/308873/ Pappas, S. (2011, October 20). Unrelenting Sex Drive May Signal Deadly Rabies. Livescience.Com; Live Science. https://www.livescience.com/16627-sex-drive-rabies-infection.html Thomas, B. (2015, October 29). Meet the Parasites That Control Human Brains. Discover Magazine. https://www.discovermagazine.com/planet-earth/meet-the-parasites-that-control-human-brains The Science of Awkward Silences by Anna Todd Koudenburg, N., Postmes, T., & Gordijn, E. H. (2011). Disrupting the flow: How brief silences in group conversations affect social needs. Journal of Experimental Social Psychology, 47(2), 512–515. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jesp.2010.12.006  Koudenburg, N., Postmes, T., & Gordijn, E. H. (2013). Resounding Silences. Social Psychology Quarterly, 76(3), 224–241. https://doi.org/10.1177/0190272513496794  Why do bubbles form in boiling water? by Ashley Hamer (Listener question from Abu) UCSB Science Line. (2020). Ucsb.Edu. http://scienceline.ucsb.edu/getkey.php?key=3197  Why Does Water Bubble When It Boils? (2019, November 2). Wonderopolis.Org. https://wonderopolis.org/wonder/why-does-water-bubble-when-it-boils Helmenstine, A.M. (2019). Know the Chemical Composition of Bubbles in Boiling Water. ThoughtCo. https://www.thoughtco.com/what-are-the-bubbles-in-boiling-water-4109061 Breslyn, W. (2016). Boiling, Atmospheric Pressure, and Vapor Pressure [YouTube Video]. In YouTube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ag4lLUXKuSM  ‌FAQ: Boiling and altitude/pressure. (2020). IAPWS.org. http://www.iapws.org/faq1/boil.html  Subscribe to Curiosity Daily to learn something new every day with Ashley Hamer and Natalia Reagan (filling in for Cody Gough). You can also listen to our podcast as part of your Alexa Flash Briefing; Amazon smart speakers users, click/tap “enable” here: https://www.amazon.com/Curiosity-com-Curiosity-Daily-from/dp/B07CP17DJY  See omnystudio.com/listener for privacy information.
14 min
More episodes
Search
Clear search
Close search
Google apps
Main menu